Taking Steps Toward Leadership–Main Character Syndrome

What the heck is that?  If you wrote a story where you were the main character, obviously everything that happens relates to you and makes you feel more important or less important as the situation develops.  It is an assumption you make about everyone around you that compares to all of your experiences and insights.  For instance, “I had no trouble with the test.  It was easy.  You must not have studied correctly.”  “I found the movie to have a very stupid, unfollowable plot, and if you liked it, you obviously don’t understand anything about the cinema.”

It is the vanity that everything that is easy for you is easy for everyone and everything that is hard or confusing for you is hard or confusing for everyone.  “Yes, I’m fat.  I could drop another 5-10 pounds to get to my ideal weight.  It make take a month.  You obviously need to cut down on your intake!  No more than 1800 Calories/day and cardio and weight lifting on a regular basis–2-3 times a week.”  To which the obese person replies, “It takes me years to drop 5 pounds and a blink to gain it back and my ideal weight is about 60 pounds lighter, and I’m eating 1200 Calories a day and doing cardio and weight lifting 6 days a week.”  I know exactly how you feel, and you should feel this way.  Wait…What if I don’t feel the same as you?

My dilemma comes with my special talents.  If I assume that everything I do is easy to duplicate, then I’m disappointed when people say it’s difficult.  If I assume that my talent makes me unusual and I probably shouldn’t expect the same level of competency from my students/ clients, then I insult them.  I have 2 rather odd talents:  I can take tests without a whole lot of studying.  I can play any instrument I get my hands on.  I can still remember my 1st piano solo (when I was 3) and my 1st Bach prelude (when I was 9), the Haydn Trumpet Concerto I learned 1976, and the Strauss Horn Concerto I learned in 1978.  Furthermore, I can transpose the Haydn and the Bach to any key you want.  I can also arrange music in my head in any key and style you want.  As I often say, “What a stupid set of things to be good at!”  How many people do you know that have talents like that?

So in my financial business, there are a lot of certification tests.  Those are not a major worry for me.  In my music business, I have some students with as good an ear as I have, but they cannot reproduce the types of things I can do.  Most cannot master more than 1 or 2 instruments.  So when I have new people on my financial team and they have to pass the same tests, I cannot tell them how I studied because most likely, I didn’t study much.  When I have new music students, should I expect the same type of musicality that I demand from myself, or am I setting the bar too high?

In Leadership, do I assume everyone can achieve the leadership positions because they read my blog, or is the assumption amiss?

Leave a Reply

