Taking Steps Toward Leadership–Resilience

What’s your turnaround time?  If everything goes to pot, how long does it take to get back on the horse?  Does it hurt your heart or your head when things go sideways?

Some go into a depression. Some shrug it off.  How do you respond?  I find myself yelling at myself or throwing things if I mess things up.  But when someone else messes up, I’m patient and think of ways to turn things around.  When the results of someone’s goof up are loss of money or lawsuits or something more serious,  I will take the heat and look for ways to help them get back into the game.  And yet on those occasions when it’s just me, I come down really hard on myself to the point where I’m hating myself and convinced that I’m worthless.  I’m not the only person that thinks like this?

Why do people do this to themselves?  Is this a holdover from earlier eras?  Is it a new fad?  If you read the Psalms, you can see David did this.  So it’s not a new thing. Then Peter had a similar self deprecation after the cock crowed.  We don’t have to do that.  In fact it’s a detriment to our businesses or our clients or teammates if we don’t recover quickly.

Resilience means nothing if you don’t reflect and learn from your experiences.  That would be like making the SAME mistake over and over.  So something goes wrong, you react or respond to the situation, then you take some time to reflect.  What went right?  What went wrong?  What did you do? How did that work?  What surprised you?  Can you plan better to avoid this possibility in the future?  You get better the more you practice–which means you’ve screwed up a lot!  The price of success is directly proportional to the amount of disappointment you can come through.

Messing up is part of life.  Resilience is essential to reaching your goals, and your turnaround time needs to be short in order to keep you from losing your momentum. You also risk poisoning the attitudes of your clients, your associates and most importantly yourself.  Do your reflecting, get back on the horse.

 

Leave a Reply

